Today

Today I became my own worse enemy
Today I served a fiend what may be her last dose
I provided the tools for her fix
Because today she said she had no hope
And who am I to tell her no
I have an addiction myself
So today I’ll play the devils advocate
And provide what she needs to cope
Because today like other days past
Sometimes you need a fix
Cause there’s nothing worth the hope
So on days like today when I have no need for hope
I pray for some stranger to provide me with my last dose
Because today I served a fiend what may be her last dose….

The Poet Q

Leave a Reply

