The Conversation #2

Hey love,
I hate to call you at such a time
But there’s something I must ask of you
Can you hold my heart for awhile
And as fascinating as it may be
Don’t play with it like a child
I’m trusting you with it
Because I can’t even trust me
I too often play with its strings
Because I enjoy the sounds of its warm and welcoming melodies
When loneliness isn’t enough I pick the scabs off
And apply pressure to freshly made bruises
Then I use them as excuses to act irrationally
I’m terrible at letting it heal
So please hold on to it for me
And I’ll come back by when I’m ready….

The Poet Q

One thought on “The Conversation #2

Leave a Reply

