Black Man Barely Breathing

I woke up late
Took a deep refreshing breath
With my ancestors blood I wash my face
I must be a disgrace to my fore fathers
When I rejoice only for a month
When Black history is made everyday
But ignorance will not render me innocent
Cause I am not alive
I’m just a black man barely breathing
No shackles on wrist and ankle
But chained is my mind to gun play and crime
Doing what I’m told
Fulfilling the stereotype one day at a time
Raise my fist for black power
When I am the epitome for black enslavement
I am the “Man’s” pusher man
And for my people I’m breathing to enslave them….

By: The Poet Q

One thought on “Black Man Barely Breathing

Leave a Reply

